Saturday, April 5

Gluten Free Alcohol Safe List & Info

One of the things about going gluten free or dealing with Celiacs, is what you can have. It can get so confusing with so much information online, although there are conflicting information. I created this blog as my personal reference and to share with others what I find. Kind of pulling it all together. When it comes to do have to be careful as well. I've done some research and found an updated list of spirits to put up. Keep in mind it's always in your best interest to be careful, if you don't feel good when drinking or eating anything...then stay away. 

The European Food Safety Authority considers alcohol "unlikely to cause a severe reaction" in those with grain allergies and the Canadian Celiac Association allows distilled alcoholic beverages for celiacs even if they're made with wheat, rye or barley...since "the distillation process should remove the reaction-causing proteins". However, the Celiac Sprue Foundation recommends no hard liquor from grains containing gluten during the early phases of a gluten free diet. 

Liquors distilled from Gluten-containing grains include: some Vodkas, Whiskey & Bourbon.

Here's the list, with a few notes:
  • Absinthe
  • Armagnac
  • Beer - GLUTEN FREE only, check Gluten Free Beer list
  • Bourbon
  • Brandy
  • Calvados
  • Champagne
  • Cognac
  • Frangelico
  • Fruit Brady - that's fruit brandy, NOT flavored brandy
  • Gin
  • Grand Marnier
  • Grappa
  • Jagermeister
  • Kahlua
  • Kirschwasser
  • Mead - honey wine
  • Ouzo
  • Pisco
  • Port Wine
  • Rum
  • Sherry
  • Southern Comfort
  • Tequila
  • Triple Sec
  • Vermouth
  • Vodka (I stick to potato vodkas personally like Belvedere)
  • Whiskey
  • Wine - not wine coolers or wine drinks.
One thing to keep in mind when if you are dealing with Celiacs...your liver & kidney could be weak. So it's best to be cautious when drinking alcohol. If it doesn't feel right or makes you feel bad, then it's always best to not have it. Also I've been told at the beginning of a strict gluten free diet, you might want to be careful with drinking as well. Let you body start it's healing process before you start adding things that make your organs work harder. When in doubt I call the company or go on their website to find out more information. Sure it takes a bit of time, but when it comes to your health and a happy body it's worth it!

No comments:

Post a Comment